Empathic design

Julia Kravchynska
2 min readMar 15, 2021

--

Empathy is the ability to see the world through the eyes of another person. And this is not easy)

But what does a design have to do with it?

We should focus on seeing the world (read “the product”) through the eyes of the end-user. I mean it. There’s not about our own or our customer’s perspective. We are always working on a product for the user.) So our goal is to understand and predict HIS needs and solve HIS problem.

The trick is to make the user journey as convenient as possible, based on his expectations, but to offer him a new experience based on his needs. And sometimes he doesn’t have even imagined about it)

As an example, let me remind you that the first personal computer was released before there was a massive demand for it)

So how to do it? Of course, it is impossible to be reborn “in someone else’s shoes”, but there is a way to try them on. I try to watch people for whom I am making a product in real-life situations to find out what motivates them, what embarrasses them, what they like, what they hate, where they have hidden needs that are not met by the current products and services.

I am very close to the idea that to create something new, a product, an idea, or even a community, you need to look at the world through the eyes of each other. And I try to apply this approach in my design work.

--

--

Julia Kravchynska
0 Followers

Hi, I'm Julia, digital designer! Here I talk about the value of design in everyday life, intereresting people and art. And also all about my design journey.